Join us on February 26th: The Adolescent Brain Cognitive Development (ABCD) Study…You’ve Heard About It, We’ve Got The Details!

Division 50’s live podcast series is off and running to a great start this year! This month (February) we are excited to welcome special guest  Dr. Susan Tapert, one of several leading investigators involved in the Adolescent Brain Cognitive Development (ABCD) Study. This NIH funded project is a landmark longitudinal study investigating cognition and brain development in children across the United States. It’s the focus of conversation among many scientific communities and now is your chance to find out what all the hype is about! February’s live podcast, to be held 2/26/16 at 1 PM EST, provides an amazing opportunity to learn about a seminal project from an outstanding researcher.

For those who are unfamiliar with the ABCD project, it is the largest long-term study of its kind, using a bio-psycho-social approach to investigate neurological development and its behavioral correlates (e.g., multiple health outcomes, mental health, substance use, etc.).  Findings from this multi-site study are expected to increase the ability to distinguish environmental, sociocultural, and genetic factors relevant to brain and cognitive development, thereby informing prevention and intervention efforts.
Dr. Tapert is a Professor In Residence at the University of California, San Diego’s Department of Psychiatry.  She received her Ph.D. from UCSD-SDSU Joint Doctoral program in Clinical Psychology, completed her Internship at Brown University, and her post-doctoral fellowship at UCSD.  She currently has several active NIH funded projects, including ABCD and the National Consortium on Alcohol NeuroDevelopment in Adolescents (NCANDA).  Please join us in welcoming her as she shares her vast knowledge of these exciting new projects and discusses the ways in which you can get involved!

Live podcasts take place on the last Friday of the month at noon (CST; 1 p.m. EST). Here is how you can join us for the live discussion: At noon (CST; 1:00 p.m. EST; 11:00 a.m. MST; 10:00 a.m. PST), dial into the conference line: (712) 775-7031 When prompted, please enter the meeting ID: 784-557-822#

2 thoughts on “Join us on February 26th: The Adolescent Brain Cognitive Development (ABCD) Study…You’ve Heard About It, We’ve Got The Details!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *